VIPKID review

I had the courage to sign up for an online teaching job and completed my 6  month contract! Then I learned VIPKID is not for me AT THE MOMENT. The communication frequency was great, but sometimes the transparency is needed. I was offered for a 2nd contract, but my Microsoft update keeps on crashing. My recent store recovery was April 8…I updated my Microsoft in March 2018. Here are what my views about VIPKID.

It is moderately competitive. I am competing between 20,000 teachers to be teaching a certain level and awaiting parents to be booked.

It is a parent pleasing review. I have read comments in the Hutong (support group for teachers) and it reminds me American parents. Parents blame the teacher for the student’s learning curve and behavior.

Appearance is marketing yourself-get parents to book you. I wear cosmetic foundation, fill in my eyebrows, wear an orange top and appropriate pants to teach. I do wake up early so I be consciously awake with energetic than to be consciously awake with a feel of fatigue or tired. This did hurt me when I had attempt to train my mind waking up at 3am-failed so much!

Image result for failed


Income

Income IS AND IS NOT predictable. Teachers are paid per class which means teachers rely on parents’ booking! Bonuses are a plus such as ending class on time, writing and submitting feedback within a time frames, and completing seasonal challenges.

Earn money when people use your referral! There are chances of mobility and I know very minimal of it because I listen passively…I do know there are VIPKID teachers whom are viewing your recorded mock class to grade your teaching and…

Your pay is evaluated based on your Mock Class…Do you dislike this or like this?

Image result for thinking

I was paid 8.00 per class and I had priced incentives.


Taxes

Taxes are a headache! I recommend speaking to your accountant and/or tax provider about your taxes. You will definitely need to save portion from your money towards independent contract taxes. If you make under a certain amount, VIPKID does not send you a form thing.

Fill out your W-9 on time. Downloand a app to scan it. Missed the deadline? VIPKID will withhold a number of % from your total payment for the rest of the 2016 tax year. 


 Nocturnal or Diurnal?

Image result for nocturnal

YOU AS A TEACHER MUST CATER to the students…Well, I decided focus on my evening classes. If you are money hungry then become nocturnal. I have asked people in West coast timezones about their schedules and they get booked early at 2pm! I never get booked at 2pm due to my tags are meant for higher level of students learners.

I was booked twice. I taught my trial class (and the parents decided to not join VIPKID) and missed 1 class. So I lost what I had earned.


 Ready to invest in VIPKID?

  1. Do your research prior joining VIPKID
  2. Dedicate space to teach your class!
  3. You must have a computer with all current upgrades. (None of those 1990s thick pc. No alien pc.)
  4. Strong wifi…but recommends ethernet. I taught through wifi.
  5. Invest in good lighting or be creative. (Someone had a photoshoot giant light and it was cool!)
  6. Contact current VIPKID teachers for guidance.
  7. Join facebook groups created by VIPKID teachers. They are all supportive! Ask if they accept anyone whom is interested.
  8. Be emotionally strong. There are parents and kids whom never had a teacher from a different race (except Caucasian and Asian).

There is more to what I want to say, but there are already published posts plus youtube videos-both the ugly truth and good.

Once you are offered a contract, you have a limited time to get it completed before deadline is reached. There is penalty for missing the deadline!


 Cons of VIPKID in my opinion 

  • Timezone
  • Aggressive deadline towards applicants. You missed the deadline? You must pay.
  • Monthly payment
  • Hutong has become high school and a bit of college. (online cliques. I read bullying occurs in Hutong.)
  • Parents book teachers based on teacher looks
  • People kept saying “use my referral.”
  • Hutong became a unfriendly place (friendly VIPKID teachers know what I mean. And I see it on published messages in the Hutong)

Pros of VIPKID in my opinion

  • The professional development created by teachers
  • The support help  Oh they were great helping Florida VIPKID teachers during the hurricane 2017 season.
  • Flexible schedules
  • The fast reply and fast help from firemen
  • The mentors and coaches  (not all are good)
  • You could teach on the go while living your nomadic life.
  • You craft your own props and decorate your teaching space
  • 6 month contract

Leave a comment